University Grants Commission (UGC), India

  Career » You are here

The University Grants Commission of India is a statutory organisation set up by Union government in 1956, for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education. It provides recognition for universities in India, and provides funds for government-recognised universities and colleges. Its headquarters are in New Delhi, and six regional centres in Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore. In 2009, the Union Minister of Education made open the government of India's plans to close down UGC and the related body AICTE - due to corruption and inefficiency charges against the bodies - in favour of a higher regulatory body with more sweeping powers.

The Inter-University Board was established in 1925 to promote university activities, by sharing information and cooperation in the field of education, culture, sports and allied areas. UGC was recommended in 1944 and It recommended the formation of a University Grants Committee, which was formed in 1945 to oversee the work of the three Central Universities of Aligarh, Banaras and Delhi. In 1947, the Committee was entrusted with the responsibility of dealing with all the then existing Universities. After Independence, the University Education Commission was set up in 1948 under the Chairmanship of Dr. S Radhakrishnan. It recommended that the University Grants Committee be reconstituted on the general model of the University Grants Commission of the United Kingdom with a full-time Chairman and other members to be appointed from amongst educationists of repute.

However UGC was formally established in November 1956 as a statutory body of the Government of India through an Act of Parliament for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education in India. In order to ensure effective region-wise coverage throughout the country, the UGC has decentralised its operations by setting up six regional centres at Pune, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Bhopal, Guwahati and Bangalore. The head office of the UGC is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg in New Delhi, with two additional bureaus operating from 35, Feroze Shah Road and the South Campus of University of Delhi as well.

National Eligibility Test (NET) : National Eligibility Test is the national level entrance examination for postgraduate candidates who wish to qualify for university level teaching jobs in India. It is administered by the University Grants Commission. More Details Click Here

Professional Councils:

Professional councils are responsible for recognition of courses, promotion of professional institutions and providing grants to undergraduate programmes and various awards. The statutory professional councils are:

Recognition and GUN: Professional Councils

       * All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE)
       * Medical Council of India (MCI)
       * Indian Council for Agricultural Research (ICAR)
       * National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)
       * Dental Council of India (DCI)
       * Pharmacy Council of India (PCI)
       * Indian Nursing Council (INC)
       * Bar Council of India (BCI)
       * Central Council of Homeopathy (CCH)
       * Central Council for Indian Medicine (CCIM)
       * Council of Architecture
       * Distance Education Council
       * Rehabilitation Council
       * National Council for Rural Institutes
       * State Councils of Higher Education

Contact Us :

Mailing Address
University Grant Commission (UGC)
Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi
Pin:110 002


Telephone and Fax
EPABX Nos. : 23232701/23236735/ 23239437/ 23235733/23237721/23232317/23234116/23236351/23230813/ 23232485
UGC reception : 23239627
Fax. Nos. : 23231797 / 23232783 23239659/ 23231814

List of All Universities in India

List of Central Universities in India

Start Discussion!
* (Will not be published)
* (First time user can put any password, and use same password onwards)
Start a new topic: (If you have any question related to this post/category then you can start a new topic and people can participate by answering your question in a separate thread)
Title/Question: (55 Chars. Maximum)
Comment/Detailed description:* (No HTML / URL Allowed)

Characters left

Verification code:*

(If you cannot see the verification code, then refresh here)

CBSE Board, UP Board, IGNOU, JNU, MBA MCA, BBA and other educational boards of India

Disclaimer: For documents and information available on, we do not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information. Papers, Results, Syllabus, Logo and other educational contents are owned by Indian Education Board and BoardGuess does not hold any copyright on it. The format of materials, being displayed on this website, comes under the copyright act., All Rights Reserved ©