Rajiv Gandhi University (Arunachal University), Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh

Rajiv Gandhi University (RGU) also known as Arunachal University is situated at Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh. Arunachal University established in 1984 by the state government of the state of Arunachal Pradesh. The University is the premier institution of higher learning of the State of Arunachal Pradesh. The Foundation Stone of the University was laid by the then Prime Minister late Indira Gandhi on 4 February 1984. The University got academic recognition under section 2(f) from the University Grants Commission (UGC) on 28 March 1985 and started functioning from 1 April 1985. It got financial recognition under section 12-B of the UGC Act on 25 March 1994. In 2005 the same has been renamed as Rajiv Gandhi University. The University was converted into a Central University with effect from 9th April 2007 as per notification of Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India.

The University is located atop Rono Hills on a picturesque tableland of 302 acres (1.22 km2) overlooking the river Dikrong. It is 5.8 km away from the National Highway 52-A and 25 km away from Itanagar, the State capital.  The campus is linked with the National Highway by a Dikrong bridge.

The teaching and research programmes of the University are designed with a view to play a positive role in the socio-economic and cultural development of the State.  The University offers Under Graduate, Post-Graduate, M. Phil and Ph.D. programmes. The Department of Education also offers B.Ed. programme.

There are fifteen colleges affiliated to the University.  The University has been extending educational facilities to the students from the neighbouring States, particularly Assam.  The strength of students in different Departments of University and in affiliated colleges has been steadily increasing.

Faculties & Departments:

1. Faculty of Basic Sciences

    * Department of Mathematics

2. Faculty of Education

    * Department of Education

3. Faculty of Environmental Sciences

    * Department of Geagraphy

4. Faculty of Life Sciences

    * Department of Botany
    * Department of Zoology

5. Faculty of Social Sciences

    * Department of Economics
    * Department of History
    * Department of Political Science

6. Faculty of Commerce & Management

    * Department of Commerce
    * Department of Management

7. Faculty of Engineering & Information Technology

    * Department of Computer Science & Engineering
    * Department of Mass Communication

8. Faculty of Languages

    * Department of English
    * Department of Hindi

Affiliated Colleges:

     * Arunachal Law Academy, Itanagar
     * Dera Natung Govt. College, Itanagar
     * Don Bosco College, Itanagar
     * Doyin Gumin College, Pasighat
     * Donyi Polo Govt. College, Kamki
     * Government College, Bomdila
     * Government College, Yachuli
     * Hills College of Teacher Education, Naharlagun
     * Indira Gandhi Govt. College, Tezu
     * Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat
     * North East Homeopathic Medical College, Itanagar
     * Rang Frah Govt. College, Changlang
     * St. Claret College, Salaya
     * St. Francis Sales College, Aalo
     * Wngcha Rajkumar Govt. College, Deomali

Contact us:

Rajiv Gandhi University,
Rono Hills, Doimukh,
Arunachal Pradesh,
INDIA - 791 112

The Registrar (In-charge)
Mr. Athikho Chalai
Phone : +91 360 2277253
Fax : +91 360 2277889

The Deputy Registrar
Dr. Tana Showren
Phone : +91 360 2277569
Fax : +91 360 2277889
E-mail :


List of All Universities in India

List of Central Universities in India

Start Discussion!
* (Will not be published)
* (First time user can put any password, and use same password onwards)
Start a new topic: (If you have any question related to this post/category then you can start a new topic and people can participate by answering your question in a separate thread)
Title/Question: (55 Chars. Maximum)
Comment/Detailed description:* (No HTML / URL Allowed)

Characters left

Verification code:*

(If you cannot see the verification code, then refresh here)

CBSE Board, UP Board, IGNOU, JNU, MBA MCA, BBA and other educational boards of India

Disclaimer: For documents and information available on, we do not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information. Papers, Results, Syllabus, Logo and other educational contents are owned by Indian Education Board and BoardGuess does not hold any copyright on it. The format of materials, being displayed on this website, comes under the copyright act., All Rights Reserved ©