University of Pune, About University of Pune in India

pune_university_main_building The University of Pune (formerly the University of Poona), located in northwestern Pune, is one of India's premier universites. The University of Pune was established under the Poona University Act, passed by the Bombay legislature on February 10, 1948. In the same year, Dr. M.R. Jayakar assumed office as the first vice chancellor of the university. Shri B.G. Kher, Chief Minister and Education Minister of the government of Bombay, helped ensure the university received a large allocation of land for their campus. In early 1950, the university was allocated over 411 acres (1.7 km²).

During the year 1949, there were only 18 colleges affiliated to the University, with an enrollment of over 8000 students. Thereafter, the number of colleges increased, and in 1994-95, the University had 41 post-graduate departments, 209 affiliated colleges and 118 recognized research institutions, with an enrollment of 1,70,000 students for both the under-graduate and post-graduate courses in different faculties.

"The University stands for humanism and tolerance, for reason, for adventure of ideas and for the search of truth. It stands for the forward march of the human race towards even higher objectives. If the universities discharge their duties adequately then it is well with the nation and the people."

- Jawaharlal Nehru

Date of Establishment  : 10th February, 1949.
Location   : Ganeshkhind Road,  Pune, Maharashtra, India.
Asian Rankings: 100
Indian Rankings: 7
Chancellor  : Shri S.C.Jamir
First Vice-Chancellor  : Dr. M. R. Jayakar
Vice -Chancellor (Acting V.C.) : Principal Dr. A. D. Adsool
Registrar  : Dr. Manik Laxmanrao Jadhav
Affiliations: UGC
Type: Public
Total area of the campus  : 411 Acres
Number of Academic  Departments  : 46
Number of Colleges affiliated  : 269
Colleges only for Girls  : 11
Recognized Research Institutes  : 129
Teachers in the University Departments  : 288
Faculties  : 11
Website address  :
univ_pune main_bldg2_pune pune_uni


  • Academic Staff College
  • Adult, Continuing Education & Extension
  • Anthropology
  • Atmospheric Space Science
  • Ayurved
  • Bioinformatics
  • Biotechnology
  • Board of Sports
  • Botany
  • Buddisht Study Center
  • Center for Advanced Study in Sanskrit
  • Center for Information & Network Security
  • Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Humanities & Social Science
  • Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Science
  • Center for Modeling & Simulation
  • Center for Network Computing
  • Center for Performing Arts
  • Center for Sensor Studies
  • Centre for Philosophy and History of Science
  • Chemistry
  • Commerce & Research Center
  • Communication & Journalism
  • Communication Studies
  • Competitative Exam Center
  • Computer Science
  • Defence & Strategic Studies
  • Department of Physics
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Educational Media & Research Center
  • Electronic Science
  • English
  • Environmental Science
  • Foreign Language
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Hindi
  • History
  • Institute of Bioinformatics & Biotechnology
  • Instrumentation Science
  • International Student Center
  • Law
  • Library & Information Science
  • Management Science
  • Marathi
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • National Centre of International Security and Defence Analysis
  • National Service Scheme
  • Office of the Vice Chancellor
  • Office of Development and Planning
  • Pali
  • Philosophy
  • Politics & Public Administration
  • Psychology
  • Sanskrit & Prakrit Language
  • School of Basic Medical Science
  • School of Health Science
  • School of Scientific Computing
  • Sociology
  • Statistics
  • Students Welfare
  • Women Study Center
  • Zoology
List of 16 Colleges Affiliated to University of Pune:

1. Institute of Science, Poona’s, Institute of Business Management & Research

2. Institute of Science, Poona’s College of Computer Sciences

3. Sinhgad Technical Education Society

4. Pune Vidyarthi Gruha College of Engg. and Tech.

5. Vishwakarma Institute of Technology

6. Institute of Business Management and Research

7. Government College of Engineering, Pune

8. Pune Institute of Computer Technology

9. Vidya Pratishthan's Institute of Information Technology

10. K. K. Wagh Education Society

11. College of Engineering Kopargaon

12. Smt. Hiraben Nanavati Institute of Management and Research for Women

13. St. Vincent's College of Commerce

14. All India Shri. Shivaji Memorial Society's College of Engineering

15. Maharashtra Academy of Engineering and Educational Research (MIT)

16. J.S.P.M.'s Shahu College of Engineering

List Of Courses In the University Of Pune:


2. Physical Education 3. medicine

4. Ayurvedic courses

5. law

6. Pharmaceutical

7. Commerce

8. Management 9. Science

Contact Us:

1. Courses, Admissions Information:


2. Exams, Certificates, Duplicate Mark lists & Result Information:


3. Other Information

Phone No. : 25601099 / 25696061 / 25690062 / 25696064 / 25696065

Other Contact Details: Click Here

Start Discussion!
* (Will not be published)
* (First time user can put any password, and use same password onwards)
Start a new topic: (If you have any question related to this post/category then you can start a new topic and people can participate by answering your question in a separate thread)
Title/Question: (55 Chars. Maximum)
Comment/Detailed description:* (No HTML / URL Allowed)

Characters left

Verification code:*

(If you cannot see the verification code, then refresh here)

CBSE Board, UP Board, IGNOU, JNU, MBA MCA, BBA and other educational boards of India

Disclaimer: For documents and information available on, we do not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information. Papers, Results, Syllabus, Logo and other educational contents are owned by Indian Education Board and BoardGuess does not hold any copyright on it. The format of materials, being displayed on this website, comes under the copyright act., All Rights Reserved ©