Central University | Central Universities in India

These are the lists of Central University which are going to be established by the Department of Higher Education, Union Government, normally by Act of Parliament, while most universities are established by state governments. GOI of has proposed for 12 more new Central Universities in Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu.

The higher education system in India being one of the largest in the world, the responsibility rests on the Central Government to devise policies with a view to improving the quality of higher education in India.Improving the quality and access of higher education and research in India has become all the more important keeping in
view the growing need of qualified human resources in various sectors of the economy. Therefore it can only be hoped that there would be more central universities in India in the immediate future.

Please find links below to know more about Central Universities in India

Andhra Pradesh

       * English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad

       * Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Hyderabad

       * University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

Arunachal Pradesh

       * Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar

       * Assam University, Silchar

       * Tezpur University, Tezpur

       * Central University of Bihar, Motihari

       * Guru Ghasidas University, Bilaspur

       * Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

       * Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi

       * Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi

       * University of Delhi, New Delhi

       * Central University of Gujarat, Gandhinagar

       * Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh

Himachal Pradesh
       * Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Kangra

       * Central University of Jharkhand, Brambe

Jammu & Kashmir
       * Central University of Jammu & Kashmir

       * Central University of Karnataka, Gulbarga

       * Central University of Kerala, Kasaragod

       * Central Agricultural University, Imphal

       * Manipur University, Imphal

Madhya Pradesh
       * Dr. Hari Singh Gour University, Sagar

       * Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya, Wardha

       * North Eastern Hill University, Shillong

       * Mizoram University, Aizawl

       * Nagaland University, Kohima

       * Central University of Orissa, Koraput

       * Pondicherry University, Pondicherry

       * Central University of Punjab, Bathinda

       * Central University of Rajasthan, Bikaner

       * Sikkim University, Yangang

Tamil Nadu
       * Central University of Tamil Nadu, Tiruvarur

       * Tripura University, Agartala

       * Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Garhwal

Uttar Pradesh
       * Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh

       * University of Allahabad, Allahabad

       * Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

       * Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow

West Besngal
       * Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan

List of All Universities in India

Start Discussion!
* (Will not be published)
* (First time user can put any password, and use same password onwards)
Start a new topic: (If you have any question related to this post/category then you can start a new topic and people can participate by answering your question in a separate thread)
Title/Question: (55 Chars. Maximum)
Comment/Detailed description:* (No HTML / URL Allowed)

Characters left

Verification code:*

(If you cannot see the verification code, then refresh here)

CBSE Board, UP Board, IGNOU, JNU, MBA MCA, BBA and other educational boards of India

Disclaimer: For documents and information available on, we do not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information. Papers, Results, Syllabus, Logo and other educational contents are owned by Indian Education Board and BoardGuess does not hold any copyright on it. The format of materials, being displayed on this website, comes under the copyright act., All Rights Reserved ©